Supermodel Prophecy

I feel sorry for the hippo.

Blood work: as long as I can remember I’ve known about blood work. I remember the first time I realized I was fat. I was in the doctor’s office awaiting the results of my blood work. I was young – I want to say 6, maybe 7 – and I was sitting there thinking, “Do other kids have to have blood work done?” My mom, a neurotic Jewish mother, was sitting with her notepad preparing to bombard my pediatrician with questions about my health. I remember a few things that day, and what I heard would eventually shape my thoughts about myself for the rest of my life.

The word of the day was Cholesterol. Cholesterol: a pretty big and scary word that at the time only seemed to be negative in connotation (I did not know there was  difference in HDL (good) and LDL (bad). My mom mentioned to the doctor how it was high and that it ran in my family, and she was worried (nothing new). When the doctor came in, he said my cholesterol was high and that I need to be on a diet (“diet,” “high cholesterol” and I am six). So I knew right then that I was different,  that from that day forward I would begin a lifetime of being told “you can’t eat this” or “don’t eat that,” or waking up to eat my candy from Halloween only to be informed that my candy had been given away because I didn’t “need” it.

Can you imagine trying to read this as a child?
Source: 4.bp.blogspot.com

I do not remember every word that was said in the doctor’s office, but I do remember one statement from the doctor.  “Well, we know she’s never going to be a super model.” Thanks, Doc.  I’ll enjoy proving you wrong. Sincerely, Naomi.

“You will never be this.”
Image: alyasfitclub.com

4 responses to “Supermodel Prophecy

  1. That doctor sounds like an asshole! And this reminds me I haven’t had a check up in a really long time… I should probably do that eventually LOL!

  2. I know right?? I was actually a child model so it was a bit disturbing for him to say it. Blood work is an important component of health because many times genetics is to blame for high choleterol etc.. Thank you for reading!!

    • Even if you weren’t a child model it’s a disturbing thing to say! I think If I was a parent i would be furious if a doctor said that about my kid!

  3. What a horrible thing for that doctor to say! I remember as a child, my doctor always said the cure for whatever was ailing me was my weight. He also said I’d make a good football player.

Don't be shy. We want to talk to you, too. "Weigh in" on the Conversation:

